A trip I never wanted to take, and some lessons learned.

This is how I used to look, in one of my happy places.

This is how I used to look, in one of my happy places.

This is the night of my diagnosis. (Because kitchen dancing always makes things a little better)

This is the night of my diagnosis. (Because kitchen dancing always makes things a little better)

Invasive ductal carcinoma was the tag given this nasty little visitor in my body. My mom and sister sat around my dining room table that afternoon, stunned and scared, arranging their bodies underneath this huge black cloud that had settled over my house. Your breathing changes when news like this hits. There are waves of sheer terror that wash over your body at the most inconvenient moments, there is pain, there is sadness, there is change in perspective, there is appreciation and there really is a decision that must be made about how you choose to face things. My instincts seem to be pointing me away from the dark side and encouraging me to ‘find the funny’ most of the time. And there really is a lot of funny in this trip. There is also huge opportunity for growth (not referring to the tumours here) and reflection. Here is where I hope to share a little of both. Stay tuned.

4 thoughts on “A trip I never wanted to take, and some lessons learned.

  1. TG….as we always signed our (shhh pass this to Tanya classroom notes). I am sitting here and shaking my head. Not with sadness, but rather in absolute delight that I “KNOW” you!! You are a remarkable woman. Stay strong my old friend….stay strong. MS

  2. I feel privelged to have met you today… I came to visit with our friend Shiela.. I told you I would read your blog and I did.. Your replay of what you and your family and friends have gone through is remarkable and bone chilling at times.. I wish you continued good days , with very few inevidable bumps in the road.. I will continue to follow your blog.. Your definately an inspiration..

Leave a Reply

